Sunday, February 26, 2012

PTI leave the Polls - Tsunami in Real Trouble

By-Polls Results on seats mostly vacated by New Joiners in Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf have stunned many Political Analysts, as the Turn-Out remained positive in most of the constituencies, despite calls for "Boycott of Polls" by PTI. It also provided opportunity to the ruling parties to strengthen their strangle hold on the Vacated Seats.

Earlier, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has called on the public to "Boycott Polls" on seats as long as  they are held on "Old Electoral Rolls". However, the people turned in reasonable numbers and polled their votes in favor of  "Status Quo" and all ruling parties won in their "Strong Holds" Fairly Convincingly.

Alarm-Bells started to ring for PTI in Multan, where in NA-148 Ali Musa Gilani, Son of Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani, got Record 93,345 Votes, that are more than what Shah Mahmood Qureshi has ever achieved? Also, Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) has reclaimed the seat vacated by Makhdoom Javed Hashmi in NA-149 Multan, as their candidate Sheikh Tariq Rashid won By-Polls with 38,176 Votes.

Moreover, Awami National Party’s Himayatullah Mayar took NA-09 from Mardan. Mayar won with 30,266 Votes. The seat was vacated by Khwaja Muhammad Khan Hoti, after he joined PTI.

In Rahim Yar Khan, Pakistan Muslim League (Functional)'s Makhdoom Mustafa Mahmood swept through NA-195 by bagging 81,745 Votes. This is Mahmood's "Familiy Seat", which they gifted to Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's new joiner Jahangir Tareen in the past, but now Tareen has been asked not to contest from NA-195 again.

The Pakistan Muslim League (Nawaz) has also claimed the Punjab Assembly seat of offer, as Malik Adil Abdullah Rokhri and Malik Azam Ghaiba snapped up PP-44 from Mianwali and PP-18 from (Pindi Ghaib) Attock, respectively. Rokhri won by securing 45,670 Votes, and Ghaiba led the race in Pindi Ghaib with 46, 976 Votes.

Of the six National Assembly seats on offer, Pakistan Peoples Party won two, Pakistan Mulsim League (Nawaz) two, Awami National Party one and Pakistan Muslim Legaue-Functional one. Of the four Provincial Seats on offer, PML (N) won the two contested in Punjab and PPP won the two contested in Sindh.

But it is pertinent to note that, PTI Tsunami might have dealt themselves a "Telling Blow" by Boycotting the By-Polls, i.e. something, similar to what PPP experienced in 1984 General Elections.

No comments:

Post a Comment